• QBN Tigers Club

The Annual Junior Trivia Night was a huge success.

Last Saturday evening the Junior Tigers held there Annual Trivia Night which is the clubs major fundraising event. Over 140 people attended the evening and it was a sensational night.

President Murray Lembit was an outstanding MC.

During the night the competition was fairly intense and the laughter could be heard out in the car park. The dinner was a great hit and there were plenty of prizes throughout the night. We had representatives from the Sportsmans Warehouse and Sharp and all in all a great night was had by everyone and the committee would like to thank everyone for what has turned out as our best night ever!!

The Junior Committee would also like to thank the following people for their valued contribution to the evening:

Jill and Nicole Bright – Peter Jensen SPORTSBIZ – Mick Palmer PALMERS TV – Darryl and Robin Jenkins CANBERRA TROPHY CENTRE – Nathan and Les SHARP DIRECT FYSHWICK – Paul Walshe ACTEW/AGL – Darryl NETWORK VIDEO KARABAR – Nick and Louise Smith BAKERS DELIGHT JERRABOMBERRA – Tennille Stewart SPORTSMANS WAREHOUSE – Darryl and team TIGERS LICENSED CLUB – Kylie and Denise DAIRY FARMERS – Danielle COCA-COLA – Jocelyn OFFICEWORKS FYSHWICK and our wonderful committee for putting in the time and effort to make it the night it was.

Scratcher and Shellie's tables had a lot of fun.

Our U16s Div 2 parents enjoying the night.

Over 140 people attended the night.

A big crowd packed the Tigers Licensed Club.

0 views0 comments
  • QBN Tigers Club

Tigers must win game v Tuggeranong.

Tigers Take On The Hawks

It’s a real battle for fourth spot at the moment and one such battle takes place at Dairy Farmers Park on Sunday against the Tuggeranong Hawks.

The Hawks sit one game plus percentage outside of the four after losing to the Eastlake Demons on Wednesday night in the postponed match of Round 8. Eastlake have joined the Tigers in fourth spot ahead on percentages but the Tigers have a game to play and that game is on Sunday in one of the most important battles of the year.

The Hawks are prone to upsetting teams above them and in particular the Tigers Club. Last season was the first in many they didn’t beat the Tigers in some sought of upset win.

A week’s lay off from the general bye should have the local team fired up after their dismal performance against Ainslie in Round 8. A number of players should return to the line-up including Billy Neely, Andrew Lieschke, Jason Satchell, Neil Irwin and possibly Matt Liddle.

The Reserve Grade need to consolidate their position on the ladder and will find it a tough slog against a talented Hawks combination who sit equal with the Tigers on the ladder.

The Under 18 Grade team will play the 9.30am curtain raiser match against a win less Hawks combination but in this grade anything can happen. The Tigers Ladies team will play ANU at Harman at 10.00am (not the Queanbeyan park as originally scheduled).

Dennis Quade

Dennis Quade to play his 200th Club Game for the Tigers

One of the Tigers longest serving players Dennis Quade will chalk up his 200th Club game on Sunday against Tuggeranong Hawks at Dairy Farmers Park.

This is a wonderful milestone for this hugely popular team member of the Tigers organisation.

He will lead the Reserve Grade team onto the field at approx 11.20am. Supporters are invited to join the Under 18 Grade and Reserve Grade players on the field to form a guard of honour for DQ when he takes the field.

DQ is one of many descendants of the Quade family to have represented the Club in one way or another. He joined the Tigers Club at age 17 from Parkes in the Central Riverina and has since played 69 1st Grade games and 130 Reserve Grade matches with one to play and he has played in both grades this season.

Most of his 200 Club games would have been played in the ruck – which takes great stamina and perseverance with the constant body contact of this position. His popularity both on and off the field deserves special mention with his enormous enthusiasm and dedication being part and parcel of his everyday football life.

Some clubs count Under 18 / Under 19 Grade matches in their total tally for games played. The Tigers don’t, but had they done so, he would have passed the milestone some time ago having played his initial years with the Tigers in the then Under 19 Grade ranks.

He has achieved the following accolades during his long and distinguished career:• 1st Grade Premiership Player – 2000 • Reserve Grade Premiership Player – 2007 and 2009 (Captain) • Reserve Grade Grand Finalist – 2001, 2003, 2006 and 2008 • Reserve Grade Best and Fairest – 1999 and 2007 • AFL Canberra Reserve Grade Best and Fairest – 1999 and 2007
  • QBN Tigers Club

Fran Langi & Hannah Dunn - Our Rep Players

Representative Season is on!

Hannah Dunn and Fran Langi Named in ACT Team for Representative Challenge

The ACT Ladies Representative play New South Wales and the Defence All-stars for the AFL Women’s NAB Challenge last Saturday at Kingston Oval.

The ACT team includes players from seven of the nine AFL Canberra NAB Women’s Competition clubs, with an eighth club in ADFA having players represented in the Defence All-stars team. The seven AFL Canberra clubs represented are ANU, Ainslie, Belconnen Magpies, Eastlake, Queanbeyan Tigers, Riverina Lions and the Tuggeranong Hawks.

ACT Coach, Damon Cook, is pleased with the wide range of clubs represented and says it is positive signs for the development of the AFL Canberra NAB Women’s Competition and the ACT Representative Team.

In their inaugural year of the Women’s competition the Queanbeyan Tigers have two players included in the team. A feat that is not lost on Queanbeyan Tigers General Manager, Ron Fowlie

“The club is always very proud of our representative players but considering this is our first year in the Women’s competition it is a fantastic achievement to have players selected in the team. The knowledge and experience these players gain from representative football will be valuable for all our players.”

Fran and Hannah listening to coach Damon Cook.

Senior Tigers Representative Players

Eleven Tigers players have been included in the 46 man squad for this years Australian Country Championships to be held in Canberra 22nd – 25 July.

The ACT are the defending Champions and the initial squad looks extremely strong. The team will be coached by Steve Maher and he will be looking for a lot better showing than the ACT teams defeat by Sydney last year.

As mentioned the ACT team are defending it’s title they won in 2008 in Shepparton which was coached by current Tigers 1st grade coach Mark Armstrong.

Below are the following players who have been selected: Toby Conroy, Mitch Daniher, Todd Dickinson, Will Griggs, Neil Irwin, James Kavanagh, Jordan Longmore, Jason Satchell, Ryan Quade, Paul Slater and Bill Neely (no photo).

Mitch Daniher
Todd Dickinson
Will Griggs
Neil Irwin
James Kavanagh
Jordan Longmore
Jason Satchell
Ryan Quade
Paul Slater
0 views0 comments