• QBN Tigers Club

2012 Black and Gold Presentation Night.

Tigers Presentation Night – 19 October 2012

The Tigers TONY WYND Medal Presentation evening will attract close on 300 people next Friday evening – 19 October at the Hotel Realm in Barton.

It will be a fantastic occasion as the Club celebrates its first ever Premiership title in the NEAFL – Eastern Conference.

Although the Club has won numerous premiership titles in lower grades, the 2012 title is the first to cross the border in 12 years since the successful triple premiership teams of 1998, 1999 and 2000.

There is great speculation as to who will win the respective medals of each grade but the favourites could come from the following;

NEAFL: Toby Conroy, James Kavanagh, Will Griggs, Ryan Quade, Kaine Stevens, Steve Jolliffe, Neil Irwin, Ben King and the recently retired Roy Jaques.

AFL Canberra Division 1: Ben Walsh, Matt Liddle, Campbell Griggs, Sean Kelly, Dale Cummins and Kaeden Watts

Under 18 Grade Rising Stars: Justin Galloway, Alec McCormick, Mitch Price, Steve Camp, Kieran Shea, Mitch Haley, James Armstrong, Jason Taylor, Toby Yeates, Jonathan Bowyer.

Tigerettes Ladies: Mikaela Eldridge, Hannah Dunn, Jacinta Froud, Tegan Tisma, Melissa Hurley, Amy Murphy, Kodie Woodbridge, Kristen Turner, Emily Lewis and Carly Res.

There have been many highlights for the Club all of which are listed below:

• NEAFL: Tigers appoint youngest ever Coach in Kade Klemke aged 21. New Transitional Coach in Josh Bryce (aged 20) and new Conditioning Coach in Robbie Thompson. • NEAFL team finish as Minor Premiers with just three losses for home and away series after finishing second last in 2011 with just four wins. • For the first time since 1956 the Tigers 1st Grade team were not defeated by a Canberra based team. • NEAFL team wins Eastern Conference Premiership defeating strong Sydney Swans team – the Grand Final regarded as one of the best ever. • Kaine Stevens named Best on Ground in NEAFL Grand Final . • NEAFL team play Brisbane Lions the following week in NEAFL Championship Grand Final. • NEAFL – Eastern Conference Team of the Year includes James Kavanagh, Toby Conroy, Kaine Stevens, Will Griggs, Roy Jaques and Kade Klemke. • Kade Klemke named NEAFL Eastern Conference Coach of the Year • James Kavanagh “runner up” in the NEAFL Goal kicking Award • Under 18 Rising Stars claim Minor Premiership after being undefeated during the home and away series. • AFL Canberra Division 1 team contest finals but miss progressing to the Grand Final for the first time in 7 years. • Tigerettes improve substantially during year reducing scores against leading clubs. • Club Wins Club Championship Title for the first time since 2007. • NEAFL Under 21 Grade Representatives: Andrew Swan, Ben King, Steve Jolliffe and Ben Klemke. Sports Medicine Trainers: Fred Gisik, Chrissy Craven. • NEAFL Under 23 Representatives: Alex Overs, Sam Jensen, Steve Jolliffe, Kaine Stevens • NEAFL Eastern Conference Representatives: Kade Klemke, Josh Bryce, Ryan Quade, Toby Conroy, Kaine Stevens. Sports Medicine Trainers: Fred Gisik, Chrissy Craven. • AFL Canberra Divisional Representatives: Ben Walsh, Chase Grintell, Mitch Price, Toby Yeates, Casey Walsh. Coach Adrian Pavese. Sports Trainer Judy Mustard. • AFL Canberra Ladies Representatives: Hannah Dunn, Jacinta Froud, Melissa Hurley, Tegan Tisma, Lani Watson, Amy McLenaghan. Adrian Pavese (Coach), Assistant Coach Peter Jensen, Sports Trainer Judy Mustard. • AFL Canberra Ladies Team of the Year: Hannah Dunn, Melissa Hurley. • Kodie Woodbridge named AFL Canberra Junior Ladies Player of the Year • Dave Matthews named AFL Canberra Ladies Coach of the Year • Adrian Pavese Named Regional Coach of the Year. • Fred Gisik named Regional Volunteer of the Year • 100 CLUB: James Kavanagh and Roy Jaques admitted to the Tigers 100 Club as Full Members on the achievement of playing 100 1st Grade Games.

Brett Fruend was admitted as an Associate Playing Member on the achievement of playing 100 Club Games.

Jacinta Froud was admitted on the achievement of playing 100 AFL Canberra Ladies matches.

Roy Jaques was recognised for 150 AFL Canberra / NEAFL 1st Grade Games.

• Muir Medal won by Will Griggs • Sam Jensen named in NSW / ACT RAMS Team

The presentation night includes acknowledgement of our many volunteers with special awards to be presented. Bookings are still available. Please phone 62993467 or email qtigers@tigersclub.com.au.

The evening commences at 6.00pm for 6.30pm. Entertainment will be live music from the recent Australia’s Got talent Contestant Owen Campbell.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All