• QBN Tigers Club

2013 Black and Gold Presentation Night

The Tigers Gala Black and Gold Presentation Night is expected to attract a large contingent of associates as it celebrates a wonderful season of Tigers Footy.

The Club has enjoyed a successful year through the ranks at all levels.

Approximately 300  players / officials / sponsors and supporters will attend the prestigious Hotel REALM in Barton on 18 October  for what will be a tremendous night acknowledging best player awards through the grades including NEAFL, AFL Canberra Division 1, the Tigerettes and Under 18 Grade Rising Stars.

Bookings are required and can be made by contacting the Club Office on 62993467 or by way of email:  qtigers@tigersclub.com.au  Alternatively please phone Ron Fowlie on 0419 280764.







During the season the following achievements were acknowledged:

  1. Under 15’s, Under 14’s (Div 2) and Under 13’s are Premiers of the respective grades.

  2. NEAFL :  Tigers re-appoint Coach Kade Klemke along with naming Josh Bryce and Paul James as Assistant Coaches. Paul Campbell and Michael Gosier were Match Day Assistants. Conditioning Coach Robbie Thompson was assisted by Michael Hutchinson.

  3. NEAFL team finish outside the top five on percentage from GWS GIANTS. However during the year become the first team from the Eastern Conference to defeat three Northern Conference teams in one year including Northern Territory Thunder, Labrador and eventual NC Grand Finalist Aspley.   NEAFL played in the  FOXTEL CUP defeating Northern Territory and then played Werribee Tigers in the 1st round at Etihad Stadium – the match broadcast LIVE on FOX Footy.

  4. NEAFL – Eastern Conference Team of the Year includes Kade Klemke and Kaine Stevens. 

  5. James Kavanagh awarded Man of the Match in the Inaugural Vietnam Veterans & Veterans Foundation Community Day at DFP.

  6. Under 18 Rising Stars are equal competition leaders at end of home and away but second on percentage. They are defeated by 8 points in Grand Final.  New Coaches appointed include Peter Jensen and Marcus Borers as Co Coaches and Dave Matthews as Assist Coach.  Josh Bryce continued as Transitional Coach

  7. AFL Canberra Division 1 team contest finals after finishing fourth. New Coaches appointed included Paul Campbell (Coach) and Matthew Weickhardt (Assist Coach).  Dave Corcoran, Michael Hardy and Dennis Quade were match day assistants.

  8. Tigerettes are Minor Premiers and undefeated CHAMPIONS of the Ladies DIV 2 Competition and are named Minor Premiers.  New Coaches appointed included Robert Anderson and Paul Lyons as Co Coaches.  Peter Skinner retained an Assistant Coaching position.

  9. Apryl Geale named Best on Ground in Grand Final

  10. AFL Canberra Under 23 Grade Representatives:  Ben King, Steve Jolliffe, Will Griggs, Kieren Shea, Kaine Stevens (BOG), Ben Klemke., Sports Medicine Trainers: Fred Gisik, Chrissy Craven.  Coach: Kade Klemke

  11. AFL Canberra Future Stars:  Kieran Shea, Jason Taylor, Jarrod Thompson, Ben Fulford, Sam Jensen.

  12. NEAFL Under 23 Representative: Kaine Stevens. He was awarded Best on Ground status in the match v South Australia Under 21 Representative team.

  13. NEAFL Eastern Conference Representatives v Tasmania : Steve Jolliffe, Will Griggs, Sam Jensen, Kaine Stevens (BOG). Sports Medicine Trainers: Darryl Taylor, Chrissy Craven.

  14. AFL Canberra Ladies Representatives:  Hannah Dunn, Tegan Tisma,. Adrian Pavese (Coach), Assistant Coach Peter Jensen(didn’t travel), Sports Trainer Judy Mustard.

  15. AFL Canberra Ladies Team of the Year: Hannah Dunn, Tegan Tisma.

  16. Josh Bryce named AFL Canberra Coach of the Year.

  17. Mark Armstrong admitted to the AFL Canberra Hall of Fame 

  18. Fred Gisik and Jane Haddock acknowledged by Sports Medicine Australia

  19. Judy Mustard acknowledged by NSW Sports Federation for Voluntary Support. 

  20. The Tigers unveil 10 new plaques along the Michael Haddock Walk of Honour at DFP acknowledging 200 Club Game players: Van Rakowski. Renee Ioppi, Dave Hunter, James Black, Dennis Quade, Roger Cuschieri, Phil McClure, Robin Schelberger, Rod Gisik, Michael Niesen.

  21. 100 CLUB:

  22. Paul Franchi and Jackson Brooker were admitted as Associate Playing Members on the achievement of playing 100 Club Games: 

  23. Matt Liddle and Neil Irwin were recognised for 150 Club Games.  

  24. Ryan Quade and James Kavanagh were recognised for 200 AFL Canberra / NEAFL 1st Grade Games. They were also recognised at the Mulrooney Medal for those achievements. 

  25. Adrian Pavese was admitted to the 100 Club on the achievement of Coaching 100 Club Games.  

  26. Wally Thompson was inducted to the Tigers Wall of Fame for his contribution as a Volunteer over 26 years.

  27. Frank Palombi was acknowledged for his contribution to the Tigers Walk of Honour.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All