top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

A Big Day Sunday – Muir Medal.

MUIR Medal

This Sundays NEAFL game at Dairy Farmers Park between the Tigers and Ainslie will be the 7th annual match between the two clubs whereby the MUIR Medal is presented to a player for a Best on Ground performance.

This Medal has been struck to recognise the significant contribution to the Queanbeyan Tigers and the Ainslie Tri Colours of Alan and Ian to their respective organisations. They are recognised as the only father / son combination to have played 200 1st Grade Games albeit for different clubs.

Alan was our Clubs 1st grade games record holder for 31 years with a total of 225 games. He commenced his playing career in 1947.

He played in six 1st Grade Grand Finals including three Premiership teams and represented the ACT for over a decade mainly in his preferred centre half back position.

He held many positions as a club official in over 60 years of involvement including the following:

· President, Secretary, Vice President, Publicity Officer, Member of Building, Tribunal Delegate

Alan Muir was a gentleman in the true sense of the word; a loyal club person and devoted football follower. Alan’s vast knowledge of our great game and that of the Tigers Club was unsurpassed. His passing in February of 2006 left the Tigers Club without one of its greatest and most spirited men.

Ian Muir commenced playing for the Ainslie Football Club from the tender age of 5 and has remained a loyal servant of that club until retirement in his early thirties. Along the way he clocked up 201 1st Grade games and participated in 6 consecutive 1st Grade Grand Finals for an unbelievable 6 Premierships.

Like father – like son. He has not only been a tremendous contributor on the playing field (including being a “magnificent kick”) but also has been a worthy administrator for the Ainslie Football Club.

Ian Muir has been a tremendous acquisition to AFL Football in Canberra. His entire family including wife Linda – a current AFL Canberra Board Member and children Billy, Harry and Tommy – who play for the Ainslie FC Juniors, will carry the Muir name in AFL Canberra for many decades.

The Muir Medal Recipients have been: · 2006 Stafford Cooper (Ainslie) · 2007 Bill Neely (Ainslie) · 2008 Danny Jaques (Queanbeyan), Andrew Lieshcke (Queanbeyan) · 2009 Jordan Longmore (Queanbeyan) · 2010 Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan) · 2011 John Holmes (Ainslie)
2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page