top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

A Great Night for the Tigers!

Vying for the 1st Grade Best and Fairest to be announced on Friday - Toby Conroy, Bill Neely and Will Griggs

Over 260 people will attend the Tigers Black and Gold Presentation Night on Friday 22 October at the Realm Hotel in Barton.

There is great interest in the announcement of the Best and Fairest winners in each grade.

All three AFL Canberra Medals for the Best and Fairest in each grade were awarded to players from the Tigers Club with Mitch Daniher taking out the prestigious Mulrooney for the second successive year. Dennis Quade won his second J McNamara Medal in 4 years in Reserve Grade and youngster Jake Oram took out the Under 18 T A Wharton Medal.

It would be expected that all three would poll well in their Club best and fairest awards however they will have stiff competition from fellow team mates.

In 1st Grade Mitch Daniher has already won the medal three times and will place a strong claim on the title again. James Kavanagh had a fantastic year at centre half forward with his year including being named Captain of the ACT Representative team that participated at the Australian Country Championships. He was eventually named Vice Captain of the All Australian Country Representative team after an outstanding Carnival.

Club Captain Ryan Quade also played in the Country Championships albeit with NSW. He also had a great year and will rack up many votes for his consistency throughout the 18 rounds of footy. Newcomer to the Tigers in 2010, Toby Conroy gained heaps of praise during the season and should press for the main award. He also gained ACT Representation at the Country Championships as did Bill Neely who returned to the Tigers after a seven year absence. Both players gained countless possessions in many of the games they featured.

Others to have a show at the Tony Wynd Medal include Coach Mark Armstrong, defenders Neil Irwin, Kris Thompson and youngster Andrew Swan.

The Reserve Grade is any ones guess. Obviously the old master Dennis Quade will once again be up with the best but whether he can hold off the many youngsters of his premiership team will remain to be seen.

Over 50 players played in this grade during the year and votes will be tight but expect the likes of Paul Briedis, Dave Corcoran, Greg hair, Beau Watts, Sam Daniel, Tom Hollis and Brett Ormston to give the Noel Miller Medal a real nudge.

The Under 18 Grade will probably go to a player with consistency throughout the year. The Club had the two top poll getter’s in the League Medal with Jake Oram taking the title from Ryan Price. Both had great years as did Jack Bowyer, Jake Robinson, Sam Jensen, Cameron Cobby, Sean Van Holland and Taylor Lee.

The Ladies are vying for the inaugural Jill Bright Medal. Jacinta Froud, Davina Harris, Hannah Dunn and Kristen Turner look likely contenders for the Best and Fairest award.

The presentation night includes acknowledgement of our many volunteers with special awards to be presented. Bookings are still available. Please phone 62993467. The evening commences at 6.30pm for 7.00pm. Entertainment will be live music from our very own Jeremy Kirkwood and Robbie Schelberger.

44 views0 comments


bottom of page