• QBN Tigers Club

AFL Canberra / NEAFL Gala Night!

The Club Championsip Perpetual back in the Tigers Den for 2012.

Tigers Dominate Coaching Awards!

The NEAFL / AFL Canberra Gala Presentation Evening was a huge success with approximately 350 attending from across all NEAFL and AFL Canberra Divisional Clubs.

For the first time in a number of years no major medal awards crossed the border but the Club featured prominently throughout the evening.

The following awards were presented to Tiger recipients during the night:

AFL Canberra Ladies:

Rising Star: Kodie Woodbridge

Coach of the year: Dave Matthews

ACT Ladies Team of the Year: Hannah Dunn, Melissa Hurley


Coach of the Year: Kade Klemke

NEAFL Team of the Year: Roy Jaques, Kade Klemke, Toby Conroy, Kaine Stevens, James Kavanagh, Will Griggs.

AFL Canberra Men’s Competitions:

Club Championship Award – Tigers Club

AFL NSW/ACT – State / Regional Awards:

Volunteer of the Year: Fred Gisik

Coach of the Year: Adrian Pavese


The prestigious Mulrooney Medal was awarded to Belconnen Shane Harris who joined the Magpies this year from Adelaide. The diminutive forward gained two votes in the last round of matches to defeat Marcus Crook of Ainslie. They were tied on 14 votes going into the last round with the Tigers Will Griggs on 13 and James Kavanagh on 12.

The J McNamara Medal for the AFL Canberra Division 1 competition was awarded to Djali Bloomfield of Ainslie with the Under 18 Grade Rising Stars TJ Wharton Medal also going to an Ainslie player in McKinley Drummond.

The Ladies Mary Ann Bainrot Medal was awarded to Elise O’Dea of Belconnen.

Leading NEAFL Goal Kicker

An unfortunate oversight during the year robbed the Tigers NEAFL full forward James Kavanagh of collecting the Leading Goal kicking award. The Club was advised just 24 hours out from the Gala Presentation Evening of a miscount in the goal kicking award which gained the Swans Mitch Morton a further two goals to push him ahead of “Kav”.

Had this been known prior to the last round of matches there is no way he would have been rested after kicking what the Club thought was the winning goal in the last match against Tuggeranong.

The Tigers did not feature in the medal calculations of the Division 1 and Under 18 Grade competitions. Surprisingly there few votes awarded to players of the Tigers Under 18 grade team.

Whether they took votes away from each other is a matter of conjecture but there were a number of players who were in the clubs best players each week but failed to gain a vote during the year.

Overall, it was a fantastic night presented by organises of the Gala Presentation Evening. Congratulations to all award winners of each club and to AFL Canberra and NEAFL for a tremendous 2012 season.

The Tigerettes were represented in the Team of the Year with Melissa Hurley and Hannah Dunn being named in the award.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All