top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Highlights of 2014

Highlights of the year

2014 was a huge year. Some of the highlights included:

  1. The Club embarked on its 90th Anniversary Year season.

  2. Kade Klemke and Josh Bryce appointed co-coaches of the NEAFL team. Adrian Pavese welcomed back as assistant coach.

  3. Bec Goddard appointed as the NEAFL team’s Opposition coach – the first ever female senior coaching appointment for the Club and also within NEAFL.

  4. Trial game wins over Ovens and Murray League Clubs, Albury Tigers (who ultimately won the 2014 O&M premiership) and North Albury (cached by Jason Akermanis).

  5. Unveiling of the Women’s Division 2 2013 Premiership Flag.

  6. Grandstand renovations completed and officially opened.

  7. ACT Sport named an award for the best ACT “home grown talent” competing on the national or international stage in honour Harry Marr former Queanbeyan Tiger Board Member and Team Manager.

  8. Adrian Pavese appointed as an assistant coach with the Melbourne Demons Football Club for the AFL Women’s Exhibition Game.

  9. Grandstand Dairy Farmers Park in the confines of the Margaret Donoghoe Sporting Complex being named after Jack McNamara, a father-figure of the club.

  10. Hannah Dunn, Ella Ross, Carly Res, Megan Godfrey & Steph Ingall selected in the AFL Canberra Women’s Representative team, coached by Adrian Pavese & Bec Goddard, with Judy Mustard as sports trainer.

  11. Brandon Lagana, Sean Wilkinson, Dean Ross, and Marcus Lawrence selected in the AFL Canberra Men’s representative side, with Chrissy Craven & Gary Bullivant as sports trainers.

  12. Kade Klemke recognised in NEAFL Team of the Year and also awarded Best on Ground in representative game versus WAFL.

  13. Ivan Soldo, who trained with the Tigers on and off for the past two seasons, placed in Richmond Football Club rookie list.

  14. Changing of the guard with Michael Goiser taking over from Ron Fowlie as General Manager.

  15. Club announced withdrawal from NEAFL from 2015 onward, along with Belconnen and Sydney Hills.

  16. Alan Muir elevated to Wall of Fame Legend status.

  17. 90th Year Anniversary celebrated in grand fashion with gala dinner, feature past and current players, supporters, volunteers and administrators.

  18. ‘90 Years in the Making’ mini-documentary produced (with support from, and huge thanks to, Paul Walshe).

  19. Tiger’s fundraising initiative, a golf ball drop, saw Michael Wescombe raised by crane to drop hundreds of golf balls on to Dairy Farmers Park, with the closest to the target collecting $10,000.

  20. Annual 100 Club Dinner recognised:

  21. Sean Wilkinson and Dave Smith for their 100 AFL Canberra / NEAFL games with Tuggeranong and Queanbeyan.

  22. Melissa Hurley for 100 games across playing stints with ANU, Ainslie and Queanbeyan.

  23. Cambell Griggs for 100 Club games.

  24. Matt Liddle for 150 Club games.

  25. Michael Wescombe and Neil Irwin were both inducted to the Wall of Fame and the Walk of Honour for 200 Club games.

  26. Ryan Quade inducted to the Wall of Fame and the Walk of Honour for 200 First grade games.

  27. Will Griggs and Todd Dickinson inducted as full members of the 100 Club.

  28. AFL Canberra Presentation night recognised:

  29. Women’s Coach of the Year – Robert Anderson

  30. Women’s Junior Player of the Year – Cassandra Reid

  31. Rising Stars Leading Goal Kicker – Matthew Grocott

  32. McNamara Medal (Best & Fairest) – Michael Wescombe and Troy Fenyvesi (Eastlake)

  33. Leading Goal Kicker – Michael Wescombe

  34. Hall of Fame inductee – Michael Goiser

  35. Hall of Fame inductee – Roy Williams

  36. AFL Merit Award – Scott Taylor

  37. Women’s Team of the Year – Hannah Dunn and Ella Ross

  38. Rising Stars Team of the Year – Jarrod Thompson, Darcy Spinks, Matthew Grocott and Brandon Lagana.

  39. Former Tigers play in grand finals around the country.

  40. Four junior teams in grand finals: U11, U12, U13 and U17, with wins to U11s and U12s.

  41. Queanbeyan Tigers Senior Premierships in:

  42. First Grade – Queanbeyan 10.7-67 defeated Ainslie 7.7-49

  43. Rising Stars – Queanbeyan 8.8-56 defeated Ainslie 5.8-38

  44. Women – Queanbeyan 7.11-53 defeated Molonglo 2.3-15

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page