top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Muir Medal Round – Queanbeyan v Ainslie

The Muir Medal was introduced in 2006 following the passing of Alan Muir. The Medal recognises the significant contribution of Alan to the Queanbeyan Tigers Club and his son Ian to the Ainslie Football Club.

They are recognised as the only father/son combination to have played 200 First Grade games, albeit for different clubs. Alan provided over 60 years service to the Tigers organisation as a player/official and passionate supporter. His legacy is now recognised by all players with his “Eat Em Alive” signature.

Ian continues to provide the same service to the Ainslie Football Club as his late father did to the Tigers. He is currently their Football Club President.

The Muir Medal is played for once a year in First Grade (or in at NEAFL level while both clubs were in NEAFL) and voted on by former players of the two clubs along with a League representative. This year’s medal will be played for at Ainslie’s Alan Ray Oval on Saturday, 13 June and will be presented in the bar area of Choices Bistro within the Ainslie Football Club Social Club after the game between 5.00pm and 6.00pm.

Past Muir Medal recipients: 2006    Stafford Cooper (Ainslie) 2007    Bill Neely (Ainslie) 2008    Danny Jaques (Queanbeyan), Andrew Lieschke (Queanbeyan) 2009    Jordan Longmore (Queanbeyan) 2010    Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan) 2011    John Holmes  (Ainslie) 2012    Will Griggs (Queanbeyan) 2013    Simon Horner (Ainslie) 2014    Ash Harris (Ainslie)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page