top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club


There are not too many teams that win successive premierships let alone three in a row.

But the Tigers Reserve grade side has achieved that feat with its third consecutive premiership last weekend over Ainslie at Manuka Oval.

Led by the ever increasingly popular Adrian Pavese as Coach (assisted by Brian Campbell in 2011 as co- coach) – the youthful Tigers combination won the title in comfortable fashion by 39 points reversing the second semi final result of which Ainslie won to advance directly into the grand final.

The Tigers were irresistible in the Grand Final. They played one of their best games for the season.

To top of a great game Paul Franchi won a best on ground medal but he would have been closely followed by Ben Jabornik and a host of other players who were mentioned in the Tigers best player list. Veteran Greg Hair put in a solid performance as did Jon Elias who took a spectacular mark in front of the Bradman Pavilion which gained accolades from spectators of both clubs.

An injury cloud hung over Jared Daniel all week with only a pregame medical clearance gaining him a jumper but his big game performances continue with three goals to boot.

Liam Wilkinson was another strong performer with his long kicking a feature of his game. A committed off season (on the raining track – not off it) should see this youngster dominate next season (barring injury which has plagued his last two seasons with the Tigers).

It was an outstanding performance and with post match celebrations at the Tigers Club enjoyed by over 200 supporters and family members.

The final squad of players consisted of the following: Paul Franchi*, Chris Haddock*, Ben Jabornik*, Mitch MacKenzie, Simon Kelland, Liam Wilkinson*, Jared Daniel*, Jake Oram*, Paul Briedis*, Daniel Campbell*, Ryan Price*, Casey Walsh*, Ben Walsh*, James Manie*, Jackson Brooker*, Greg Hair*, Taylor Lee, Brett Ormston*, Mitch May, Beau Watts*, Brendan Ward, Jon Elias*, Kaeden Watts*, Liam Walker – Eastick*, Daniel McGavin*, David Corcoran*, Michael Hardy, Daniel Sainsbury, Gerard Walshe and Daniel Jabornik*. * Played in Grand Final .

To sum up the Tigers spirit, the following quotes are published by two players who missed selection : Simon Kelland three pre seasons, three trainings a week and three times missing out on the big grand final, lucky I made some friends for life and had some unbelievable times on the way, I could never stay dirty at a club like Queanbeyan good luck Saturday boys, show those Ainslie boys how to play the game. I will be the 19th voice.

Taylor Lee There is not a bad thing about the qbn tigers football club… It’s is amazing…

AINSLIE 3 2 3 5 5 5 7 6 (48) QUEANBEYAN 4 2 8 8 9 12 12 15 (87)

AINSLIE Goal Kickers: L. HIGHFIELD 2, A. GROZINGER , M. ABLETT , B. PERRY , C. HAINING , N. ROBERTSON Best Players: L. CARTER, C. Dobson, A. McJANNETT, M. Johnston, C. HAINING, B. PERRY QUEANBEYAN Goal Kickers: J. DANIEL 3, B. Walsh 2, D. Campbell 2, K. WATTS , D. JABORNIK , R. Price , J. Manie , B. JABORNIK Best Players: P. Franchi, D. JABORNIK, J. ELIAS, L. Wilkinson, G. Hair, J. DANIEL

5 views0 comments


bottom of page