top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Return to Tigers Past!

The Tigers will return to their old stomping ground – the Queanbeyan Park Oval to launch their 2011 season and its participation in the new North East Australian Football League. The Launch will be held on Wednesday 30 March from 5.30pm.

The Queanbeyan Park holds fond memories for many old timers of the Club, the ground being used during the period 1929 through to 1979 before moving to Margaret Donoghoe Sportsground now named Dairy Farmers Park.

AFL Canberra are commemorating 100 Years of Football in the district this year with the Queanbeyan Park being named as the ground on which the first ever game was played – on 29 July 1911.

The district also claims the birthplace of Thomas Wentworth Wills – the founder of Australian Football. He was born at Molonglo in the Queanbeyan district on August 19, 1835.

A special training run for the entire club at the ground will coincide with a corporate function which is expected to attract quite a contingent of business people from the Queanbeyan / Canberra Community.

The Tigers Junior Club still play at the Queanbeyan Park along with the Tigers Ladies Team. St Edmund’s College will play all its home games for its numerous junior teams at the picturesque ground in 2011. ______________________________________________________________________

In other news, the Club has the following trial games organised during the lead up to the opening round of the Eastern Conference of the NEAFL:

Saturday 19 March.

Queanbeyan v Wagga Tigers at Maher Oval in Wagga. Two games will be played, the first commencing at 1.45pm, the second at 4.00pm. (these matches will be preceded by trial games in a number of junior grades between the two clubs).

The Tigers Ladies team will compete in the Cooma Knockout carnival.

Saturday 26 March

Queanbeyan v Eastlake at Dairy Farmers Park. This trial will be played over 6 periods with all senior grade players being involved. The Tigers Under 18 Grade team will play Gungahlin at approx 12 noon.

The respective leadership groups will be announced for each team (including Ladies) at a function on the Saturday Night at the Club.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page