top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Super Two’s aiming for Back to Back Titles!

11 players will be backing up from the 2009 Reserve Grade Premiership


The Tigers Reserve Grade team enter their fifth successive Grand Final on Saturday in a showdown with perennial finalist Belconnen Magpies. The teams have two wins apiece against each other during the regular season with the Tigers going one up after defeating the Magpies in the second semi.

The Grand Final should be a beauty with both teams showcasing many senior grade players.

1st Grade Premiership players Renee Ioppi and Chris Davis will feature for the Tigers. They have over 400 1st Grade matches to their credit. Add 118 1st Grade gamer Andrew Lieschke to the list and the Tigers will field a quality side bolstered by the inclusion of at least eleven of last years successive reserve grade premiership team.

Belconnen also have a quality team. Daniel Posch and Craig Eckersley have booted 80 goals between them and will be stiff opposition up forward. Eckersley played over 100 1st grade games with Weston Creek before the Club disbanded and is a household name in AFL Canberra circles. His bulk with be a worrying factor for the Tigers backline. 1st Grade Premiership players Luke Rhodes and Matt Porter add considerable experience to their team.

The Magpies made the grand final after defeating Ainslie in the last minute of the preliminary final last Saturday. In a tough encounter, they came from behind to snatch victory over a strong Tricolours combination.

The Tigers team will be selected from the following: Chris Davis, Paul Briedis, Beau Watts, Sam Daniel, Andrew Lieshcke, Dennis Quade, Sean Kelly, Greg Hair, Ben Jabornik, Liam Wilkinson, Fred Nortje, Dane Miller, Andrew Regan, Daniel McGavin, Simon Mackie, Tom Hollis, Brett Ormston, Kaeden Watts, Mitch Heaslip, James Nancarrow, Renee Ioppi, Dave Corcoran, Simon Kelland, Jared Daniel, Daniel Jabornik, Hayden Kelly, Michael Moss, Dean Ross, Gerard Walshe and Cory Cutmore.

The Program for the 2010 AFL Canberra Grand Final is: 8.00am Under 18 Grade Grand Final: Marist v Belconnen 11.15am Reserve Grade Grand Final: Queanbeyan v Belconnen 2.30pm 1st Grade Grand Final: Ainslie v Eastlake.

The Tigers Club invite all supporters attending the match to congregate in the Tigers tents which will be positioned on the far side of the ground. Catering facilities will be available. No alcohol is allowed to be taken into the ground.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page