top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Three Peat! Tigers scoop the pool at Mulrooney Medal Night.

Mitch Daniher, Jake Oram & Dennis Quade together after their respective wins.

Mulrooney Medal Night

The Tigers had a clean sweep of best player awards at the AFL Canberra Mulrooney Medal Night with Mitch Daniher picking up his second consecutive Mulrooney Medal as the best and fairest player in the 1st Grade competition, add the J McNamara Medal to the Tigers Reserve Grade Captain Dennis Quade and the T A Wharton Medal to Under 18 Grade player Jake Oram with player Ryan Price was runner up to Oram.

What a night for the Tigers Club.

League historians could not recall an occasion were all three competition best and fairest awards were presented to the one club.

In addition; Tigers outgoing Coach Mark Armstrong was presented with the Kevin Neale leading Goal kicking award after amassing 57 goals for the season. His career total now stands at 796 goals, the most ever for a player in the history of AFL Canberra.

The Tigers Club were acknowledged as Runner Up in the Club Championship Award after finishing on the same points as Ainslie but losing the title on a count back of 1st Grade wins. It is the 17th time the Club has featured in the top two in the last 27 years.

The AFL Canberra team of the year was announced with Mark Armstrong (full forward) being named for the 14th consecutive year. Toby Conroy (wing) and Mitch Daniher (interchange) were also named in the team along with the Tigers dynamic James Kavanagh (centre half forward) who was honoured by being named Captain of the team.

It was Mitch Daniher’s second consecutive Mulrooney Medal and he joins two other Queanbeyan players to have obtained the prestigious medal on multiple occasions. Roy Watterson achieved successive medals in 1953 and 1954. Tony Wynd has the most with four 1983, 1988, 1989, 1990. Other Queanbeyan players to have won the medal are Merv Strang and Tom Kelly (1938), Michael Kennedy (1994) and Steve Vizy (1997).

The J McNamara Medal named after long serving player and administrator of the Tigers Club Jack McNamara has only been won by a Tigers player on 5 previous occasions since its inception in 1947. It was Dennis Quade’s second McNamara Medal having won the award in 2007. Other players to have won the award include last years recipient Daniel Jabornik, Sam Chadwick-ledger (2003), Geoff Deeble(1992) and Ken Bird (1955).

The T A Wharton Under 18 Grade Medal has only been won by a Queanbeyan player on five other occasions. Renato Res was the initial recipient in 1965. James Black won the award in consecutive years (1971 and 1972). The other two were Matt Weickhardt (1996) and Sam Daniel (2008).

U18s team mates Ryan Price (2nd) and Jake Oram (1st) celebrated a top two finish in the medal.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page