top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Tigers pick up major AFL Canberra awards

Queanbeyan Tigers receive recognition

By Kimberley Le Lievre, The Queanbeyan Age/The Chronicle journalist. Republished with permission of the The Queanbeyan Age/The Chronicle. First published in the The Queanbeyan Age/The Chronicle, 12 September 2016

The Tigers were among the winners from Sunday night’s AFL Canberra Mulrooney Medal gala presentation night.

Inducted into the AFL Canberra Hall of Fame was Tigers chairman and longstanding former general manager Ron “Chook” Fowlie, who took his rightful place.

Player and coach Kade Klemke was announced as the AFL Canberra men’s coach of the year.

And five young Queanbeyan players were selected in the Future Stars team of the year. They were Tyler Van Luin, Matt Vardanega, Christian Palombi, Jack Carroll-Tape and Reed Stevens.

In the Mulrooney Medal first grade vote count, Klemke came sixth and captain Andrew Swan came in eighth.

In the under-18s Rising Stars grade vote count Mitch Wallis came fourth and Josh Mulrooney came fifth.

In the women’s vote count, captain Hannah Dunn came eighth.

Future Stars Team of the Year

Kade Klemke

Ron Fowlie

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page