top of page
  • Writer's pictureQBN Tigers Club

Ainslie Revenge First Round Defeat

The Tigers NEAFL team were outclassed by a superior Ainslie combination last Saturday at Ainslie Oval inflicting the Clubs second loss of the season.

Both Clubs were missing players but the depth of Ainslie proved the difference in what is an ominous sign from the Tricolours who have recruited wisely over the summer months.

The Tigers were forced to exclude both Ryan Quade and Will Griggs from the line up prior to the game which resulted in 6 changes from the previous week’s game against Belconnen.

Also missing were Todd Dickinson (who has a season ending knee injury from the match against the Magpies), James McCabe, David Smith and Kaine Stevens.  The Clubs injury toll has certainly taken a huge blast this season with Beau Walker and Matt Cavedon both recovering from ankle and knee injuries respectively while Josh Bryce will also miss the season with a knee injury.

Inclusions last Saturday were Jarrod Atkinson, Mitch Daniher, Neil Irwin, Michael Wescombe  and youngster Tim Shea.

Nathan Kerlin

Jarrod Atkinson

Jeremy Kirkwood

Kade Klemke

Stephen Camp

Steve Jolliffe

James Kavanagh

The powerful forward line of Ainslie was far superior to the makeshift backline of the Tigers which has taken a battering since last year’s premiership winning team.  Former Tuggeranong Hawks player Sean Ellis ripped the Tigers apart across the centre and in the forward line to post 6 goals while Muir Medallist Simon Horner was dominant throughout .

For the Tigers there were some quality performances even though well beaten.  Mitch Daniher was outstanding considering he is restricted by work commitments with training and playing.  Matt Liddle is being rewarded for the hard work on the training track while Steve Jolliffe and Toby Conroy continue to impress with quality possessions.

Toby Conroy

Mitch Heaslip

Group Discussion



Goal Kickers: S. Ellis 6, J. Bennett 6, S. Horner 2, N. Heyne 2, J. Eastoe 2, S. Campbell , J. Hirst , A. Harris , J. Cuzner Best Players: S. Ellis, L. Highfield, K. Morris, S. Horner, L. Crook, M. Crook


Goal Kickers: J. Kavanagh 3, M. Liddle 2, M. Daniher , J. Atkinson , T. Conroy , N. Kerlin , K. Klemke , B. Klemke Best Players: S. Jolliffe, S. Jensen, T. Conroy, J. Atkinson, B. King

AFL Canberra Division 1:

After a week of regrouping the Tigers Division 1 side met an undefeated Ainslie outfit for the third time in six weeks.

With ten regular NEAFL players missing, the side was always going to face a fierce and intense match.  But, with resilience and belief the side played a brand of footy that we have all been waiting to witness. The combinations of experienced and young were strong and showed that this side can compete when they apply themselves and come together as a group. There was a strong focus on the discipline and there were no instances of indiscipline this week. Certainly a turnaround from the previous week.

It has taken the group time to gel, but better late than never. Tim Cook had his best game for the year running off half with a superb 50m running goal and along with Alec McCormick and Chase Grintell they formed a strong back unit who rebounded the ball well.

Toby Yeates played his best game of the year to date and was well supported by Mal Fernie who returned three goals.

Each player performed a role on Saturday and although leading by four goals going into the last quarter and to be over run, the signs for this group are extremely positive and certainly heading in the right direction.

Ainslie2438511111581Queanbeyan Tigers316310511773


Goal Kickers: B. Hackett 3, A. Grozinger 2, M. Sheldon 2, P. Schroder , L. Carter , F. Nortje , R. Haupt Best Players: T. Carracher, A. Sangston, M. Mulroney, E. McCowan, B. Hackett, C. Bernasconi


Goal Kickers: M. Fernie 3, D. Hespe 3, D. McGavin 2, D. Ross , T. Cook , T. Yeates Best Players: A. McCORMICK, D. Hespe, J. Daniel, J. O”Halloran, D. Kerlin, T. Yeates


Tigerettes played against Murrumbidgee at Stirling Oval and welcomed the opportunity to play a team in their own division after 2 matches in against 2 of the top Division 1 sides.

The girls played an overall good positive style of football and had a convincing 12-18-90 to 0-0-00 victory.

We welcomed Caitlyn Gordon and Tracey Thomas who played their first games of football for the club and Maddi Skinner, Holly Letcher and Shay Thomas playing their first games for the year.

Mikaela Eldridge got things rolling with a goal and was proving a handful for the Murrumbidgee defence.

Hannah Dunn dominated at Centre Half Forward with 5 goals and was well supported by Ashley Dand and Emma Hunt who played a great game.

Fallon Liescke, Kirsten Turner and Jacinta Froud continually won the ball at the stoppages and set up many scoring opportunities.

The backline although having a relatively quiet day showed great levels of concentration and discipline by repelling any opposition attacks with Amy Murphy and Tegan Tisma in particular giving the Tigerettes plenty of drive of the half back line.

Apyrl Geale and Kodie Woodbridge controlled the ruck and gave our smaller players first use of the ball which allowed us to continually drive the ball forward.

It was an good all round team performance by the Tigerettes in which everyone contributed.

The result was marred by news that Siau Goh broke her collarbone for which she will required surgery.

All business

Sorting out the game plan

Talking tactics


This weekends game v ANU has a time change to 2.00pm on Sunday and will be played after the Tigers Under 18 Grade Rising Stars match at Dairy Farmers Park.   It will also be the 50th occasion the Tigerettes have taken the field in their brief time in the AFL Canberra Ladies competition.

Murrumbidgee 000000000Queanbeyan Tigers34791012121890

Queanbeyan Goals: Dunn 5, Tisma, Eldridge 2, Turner, Leishcke, Goh Queanbeyan Best:    Murray, Dand, Hunt, Tisma, Eldridge, Dunn

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page