top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeneral Manager

Muir Medal Round / Alex Page to become 96th 100 Club Member

It is the Annual Muir Medal Round this Saturday @ Aulich Park and will mark a special

day for local junior Alex Page who will become the 96th Full Member of the 100 Club.

The Muir Medal

The Muir Medal was introduced in 2006 following the passing of Tigers Legend Alan Muir.

The Medal recognises the significant contribution of Alan to the Queanbeyan Tigers and his son Ian to the Ainslie Football Club.

They along with The Bennett family (Belconnen) - are the only other father/son combination to have played 200 First Grade games, albeit for different clubs.

Alan provided over 60 years’ service to the Tigers organisation as a player/official and passionate supporter. His legacy is now recognised by all players with his “Eat Em Alive” signature.

Son Ian continues to provide service to the Ainslie Football Club.

Alan Muir #7

LEGEND #2 Wall of Fame Induction - 1987

Alan was the Clubs record 1st grade games record holder for 31 years with a total of 225 games. He commenced playing in 1947 and played in 3 successive Intermediate Premiership teams – 1947 to 1949 before graduating into the Tigers senior grade teams.

In addition to playing in six grand finals including the 1953, 1954 and 1956 First Grade Premiership teams he represented the ACT for over a decade.

He held many positions as a club official over 60 years including the following:

  • President 1951

  • Secretary 1959 – 1961

  • Senior Vice President – 1981

  • Publicity Officer – 1950, 1957 – 1961, 1984 – 2002

  • Member of Building Committee (Tigers Club) – 1978 – 1980

  • ACTAFL, AFL Canberra Tribunal Delegate – 1985 – 2002

His long association with Australian Football in Canberra and QBN Tigers Club has been recognised by the following:

  • Tigers 100 Club – 1982

  • ACTAFL 200 Club – 1982

  • QTAFL Life Membership – 1985

  • QTAFC Merit Award – 1987

  • Tigers Wall of Fame – 1987

  • ACTAFL Media Award – 1999

  • Australian Sports Medal – 2000

  • ACT Sports Hall of Fame – 2000

  • Tigers Under 18 Grade B & F became known as the Alan Muir Medal – 2001

  • Recognition for Years’ Service from the AFL – 2002

  • Elevated to LEGEND Status at the 90th Year Dinner in 2014.

Alan Muir was a gentleman in the true sense of the word; a loyal club-person and devoted football follower. His vast knowledge of our great game and that of the Tigers Club was unsurpassed. His untimely passing in 2006 robbed the Tigers Club of its past.

The Muir Medal is played for once a year, at alternate grounds.

Muir Medal recipients:

2006 Stafford Cooper (Ainslie)

2007 Bill Neely (Ainslie)

2008 Danny Jacques (Queanbeyan), Andrew Lieschke (Queanbeyan)

2009 Jordan Longmore (Queanbeyan)

2010 Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan)

2011 John Holmes (Ainslie)

2012 Will Griggs (Queanbeyan)

2013 Simon Horner (Ainslie)

2014 Ash Harris (Ainslie)

2015 Brett Fruend (Queanbeyan), Lucas O’Neill (Ainslie)

2016 Andrew Swan (Queanbeyan)

2017 Daniel Ledda (Ainslie)

2018 Aaron Wiles (Ainslie)

2019 Frazer Hawkins (Ainslie)

2020 Toby Conroy (Queanbeyan)

2021 Sam Jensen (Queanbeyan)

Ian will be presenting the medal to the best on ground on the day and his sisters Alison and Susan will also be in attendance representing the family on the day.

Alex Page - 96th Full Member of the Tigers 100 Club

Also on Saturday we have another player who will reach the magical 100th First Grade game thus becoming the 96th Full Member overall.

The club congratulates Alex Page on his wonderful achievement with Alex being another local junior to have come through the ranks to reach this magical milestone!

A crafty and at times sneaky goal kicking forward has and continues to break games apart with his unique skill and both sides of the body kicking, Alex's prowess will be remembered best for those who seen his bicycle kick in the 2015 First Grade Grand Final.

117 views0 comments
bottom of page